Theft & Burglary

The Southern Maryland law firm Sasscer, Clagett & Bucher (SCB) is ready to fight for you! Getting representation as soon as possible following any charge for theft or burglary is the best way to get a positive result at trial. These charges are considered very serious. Only an experienced Maryland criminal defense lawyer can successfully defend your case.

If you have been charged with Burglary or Theft, don’t wait! Contact an aggressive Maryland criminal defense attorney at 301-627-5500.

In the state of Maryland, the consequences for a theft or burglary charge can have a huge impact on your life and criminal charges mean severe penalties.

What does the law mean by a “Maryland Theft Charge”?

In Maryland, theft is a broad category of criminal acts. Shoplifting is one type of charge in this area, but even finding something and making no effort to return it to the owner can be considered a criminal violation in Maryland. Some charges are more serious than others and a Maryland theft lawyer can help explain the charges you face and what they mean for you and your case.

An experienced criminal defense lawyer from Sasscer, Clagett, and Bucher can represent clients facing theft and burglary charges anywhere in Maryland. Look for a defense attorney with the knowledge and resources to build a solid defense.

What is the Penalty for Theft or Burglary in Maryland?

The laws and penalty for crimes of theft or burglary in Maryland vary greatly depending on the value of the stolen item. Shoplifting a bottle of perfume valued at less than $100 is considered less serious than taking a diamond ring (usually worth more than $1,000). The severity of the penalty also increases if you steal from your employer.

Possible penalties in Maryland for theft include:

  • For an item or service valued at less than $100 – up to 90 days in jail
  • For an item or service valued at less than $1,000 – up to 18 months in jail
  • For an item or service valued between $1,000 and $10,000 – up to 10 years in prison
  • For an item or service valued between $10,000 and $100,000 – up to 15 years in prison
  • For an item or service valued greater than $100,000 – up to 25 years in prison

Maryland Theft Laws

For more information about theft laws in the state of Maryland, you can visit Section 7-104 of the State’s Criminal Code. The state’s criminal code can be difficult to understand without legal experience or a basic understanding of the language used. That is why an experienced criminal defense lawyer is so essential. A qualified and knowledgeable attorney can help you understand the charges you face.

If you would like to speak with a member of the firm, or have any question about our practice, please contact our offices to arrange a consultation. Call 301-627-5500.